Yellow Wagtail

5 May

This afternoon I went back to Farlington Marshes and I seen this yellow wagtail:

And it was next to the face of a cow. For scale.

I seen a load of other stuff. Not just a yellow wagtail. I seen a linnet. But only a female. Soz.

And I seen a wheatear. It’s proper name is a northern wheatear. But most people just say wheatear, like.

There were loads of swallows that I seen. But they go well quick. I took a photo but they look smudged. I pretend to people that is what I wanted cos then they look like they are moving. But they really were moving so it is no great shakes.

And I seen this shelduck. He stood on one leg. Ducks do that.

And I seen a lapwing he was colourful before I photoed him.

And I seen this greenfinch.

And I seen a load of bar-tailed godwits. At least I think they are bar-tailed godwits. Could be curlews for all I know. Know what I mean?! Ha ha! Yeah.

And I seen a swift but the photo was no good. So it don’t count.

4 Responses to “Yellow Wagtail”

  1. Shackleford Hurtmore May 8, 2012 at 5:20 am #

    That’s not a greenfinch. It’s a rabbit.

    • baldmonkeyseenabird May 8, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

      Just to the right of the rabbit, yeah. No worries. Happy bird seeing, fella.

      • Shackleford Hurtmore May 8, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

        Oh yes, I see it now. Isn’t the camoflage remarkable?

      • baldmonkeyseenabird May 9, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

        Yes. Improbably, the name “greenfinch” comes from the Greek word; Grenfinccaea, meaning “bird which is camoflagued well, a bit like a chameleon but just one colour”.

Leave a Reply

