Mistle Thrush

9 Jul

Today I went to Royal Victoria Country Park and the pond just outside it. There was a bloke there with a bicycle feeding the ducks loads of white bread. White bread is bad for ducks. But they are only ducks, so who cares?

Anyway, right, I seen a mistle thrush. At least I think it is a mistle thrush. It ain’t easy to tell a mistle thrush from a song thrush. But it looks like it has that ear smudge thing and rounder blotches so I say it is a mistle thrush. I’m shrugging now. Just so you know.

Then I seen a black swan. Now the thing is, right, a black swan is a filthy foreign import animal right, I mean, really it counts more as a pet than a wild animal, on account of someone must’ve brung it over from Austalia or New Zealand or whatever but what I did though is I put it on the list so I could cross it off anyway. Ain’t like it matters is it? Don’t have an eppy or anything.

Also I seen some sort of mystery duck that is probably some other kind of filthy foreign import. Please do not read this as some kind of racist metaphor. It could seem even worse because both the filthy foreign import swan and the filthy foreign import duck are darkly coloured. But I ain’t a racist. I had a friend at school who was a race. And a homo. So that’s two boxes ticked. He was alright. I was fine with him. We never had a problem. I ain’t a racist. Or a homophobe. I’m just not keen on foreign birds. I prefer UK ones. Look. we should probably stop getting bogged down in this, to be honest, and look at the pictures of the mystery duck. If you know what type of mystery duck it is, please let me know. Cheers. (edit:- thanks to Carrie’s reply below, the mystery duck has now been identified as a Cayuga Duck; a filthy American domestic breed)

Also seen canada geese and a mallard in eclipse plumage. That’s all. Nice one. Cheers. Right.

Oh and I thought you might like to see the mallard feather I found but when I scanned it it didn’t really do it justice.

soz

5 Responses to “Mistle Thrush”

  1. Manley (@LordManley) July 9, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

    We have lots of Black Swans in Dawlish. Frankly they can shit off, for all I care.

  2. Carrie July 9, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    I thinks your mystery duck is a Cayuga I does. Or Google does anyway.

    • baldmonkeyseenabird July 9, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

      So it is. Cheers for that. I’ll add it to the list and cross it off right now.

  3. Alfonso Bongo July 10, 2012 at 10:50 pm #

    Fuck yeah

Leave a Reply

