Greylag Geese

21 Sep

I’ll not lie; I’ve been a bit disheartened by birds lately. Most of them don’t let me seen them on account of selfishness. So when I gone up the Blashford Lakes this morning and seen these greylag geese, I decided to cross them off the list even though it is an awful photo.I think that might be a couple of lapwings in the front there and all. But the less said about them the better.

There were lots of old people in the hide there. I told them my really great greylag goose joke:

 Q. What did the greylag goose do when it was on Goose-Mastermind?

 A. Anser anser!

This is very much amusing because the science name for a greylag goose is anser anser which sounds similar to answer answer which is what you do to the questions on Mastermind. However, the old people did not laugh even though I explained it many times.

I should have told them that Goose-Mastermind would be presented by Cygnus Cygnusson because that sounds like Magnus Magnusson who used to present Mastermind when he wasn’t dead and cygnus cygnus is the science name for a whooper swan and swans are similar to goose. But it would have been a waste of my time on account of they were humourless.

Other things I seen were these robin, blue tit, coal tit, sedge warbler, great crested grebe and jay.

6 Responses to “Greylag Geese”

  1. Fork September 21, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

    Your two maybe Lapwings are actually definitely Egyptian Geese. A man one and woman one.

    • baldmonkeyseenabird September 21, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

      They fooled me into thinking they were not egyptian geese by being much smaller that egyptian geese and completely different colours. Damn those cheating geese.

      • Fork September 24, 2012 at 11:05 am #

        These Egyptian Geese are far away.

      • baldmonkeyseenabird September 26, 2012 at 9:41 am #

        Are you sure?

  2. YOUR COUSIN JOSH September 27, 2012 at 2:58 am #

    I saw an egyption geese just to annoy you. lol.

Leave a Reply

