Lesser Redpoll

21 Dec

Today I gone to Blashford Lakes. There were lots of birdwatchers there. Some of them had friends. I don’t understand that. If I had friends I wouldn’t do seening birds; I’d do something enjoyable. Anyway though but, I saw a load of birds so it don’t even matter.

I seen lesser redpolls and bramblings and siskins which I can cross off my list now thanks.

Lesser redpoll looking one way

Lesser redpoll looking one way.

Lesser redpoll looking the other way.

Lesser redpoll looking the other way.

Brambling.

Brambling.

A siskin.

A siskin.

A siskin also.

A siskin also.

Then I seen some sort of grebe. I think it is a black-throated grebe. Dunno though. Soz. Fuzzy photo don’t help, is it?

Fuzzy grebe.

Fuzzy grebe.

Anyway, whatever type of grebe it is it told me your mum lives here because it is her best house. And I believe him.

Your mum's best house ever.

Your mum’s best house ever.

Later I seen another grebe. It was a little grebe.

Splash where a little grebe was just moments earlier.

Splash where a little grebe was just moments earlier.

And I think I seen a firecrest or possibly a goldcrest but the photos are so bad I can’t be sure. (Edit: Earlyworm Birder tells me this is definitely a goldcrest. And Earlyworm Birder‘s word is good enough for me as long as it means I can cross another thing off the list. Be sure to visit Earlyworm Birder‘s blog. And then tell me if it is any good as I couldn’t be bothered to look at it myself; he sounds awful.)

Firecrest possibly.

Firecrest possibly.

Or maybe a goldcrest.

Or maybe a goldcrest.

Here are other things I seen.

Target-faced Goldfinch just begging to be shot.

Target-faced Goldfinch just begging to be shot.

A load of some ducks.

A load of some ducks.

Shoveler with badly defined edges.

Shoveler with badly defined edges.

Long-Tailed Tit

Long-Tailed Tit

Great Spotted Woodpecker (proper male edition)

Great Spotted Woodpecker (proper male edition)

Boring and ill-focused gadwall.

Boring and ill-focused gadwall.

Cormorant tree bearing fruit.

Cormorant tree bearing fruit.

Blue Tit (or, en Francais, Le Tit Bleu)

Blue Tit (or, en Francais, Le Tit Bleu)

2 Responses to “Lesser Redpoll”

  1. Earlyworm Birder December 22, 2012 at 9:41 am #

    Hi,

    It is a Great-crested Grebe in winter plumage, and the other bird you were not sure about is a Goldcrest. Here are some of my images of a Firecrest so you can see the difference: http://earlywormbirder.blogspot.co.uk/2012/10/fire-and-gold.html

Leave a Reply

