Magpies

6 Feb

I been up Farlington Marshes. Seen loads of magpies. A flock of seven. Flocks of magpies are basically corvid gypsies. Going around selling lucky heather and picking other birds pockets and messing up the place and being more inbred than royalty.

Some magpies.

Some magpies.

Seening them reminded me of the old nursery rhyme my grandad used to tell me:

“One for sorrow,

Two for sorrow,

Three for sorrow,

Four for sorrow,

Five for sorrow,

Six for sorrow,

Seven for… oh, look, Paul, it don’t matter how many magpies you see, all life is pain.”

I prefer the more traditional one we all know though:

“One for sorrow

Two for job seeker’s allowance

Three for a boy

Four also for a boy

Five for Sticklebricks

Six for towels

Seven for a microwave ready meal

Eight for an outside line.”

Other than that I seen a thing what I hoped was a black-necked grebe, but I remain unconvinced, and a load of borings.

Things I want to be a black-necked grebe but probably ain't.

Things I want to be a black-necked grebe but probably ain’t.

Thing I want to be a black-necked grebe but probably ain't.

Thing I want to be a black-necked grebe but probably ain’t.

Thing I want to be a black-necked grebe but probably ain't. Again.

Thing I want to be a black-necked grebe but probably ain’t. Again.

Thing I want to be a black-necked grebe but probably ain't. Also again.

Thing I want to be a black-necked grebe but probably ain’t. Also again.

(Edit: Leicester Llama reckons they are probably black-necked grebes, so I’m crossing them off the list. If you have a problem with that, go to Leicester and take it up with the first llama you see.)

Something. Maybe a bunting. Or something else.

Something. Maybe a bunting. Or something else.

Oystercatcher.

Oystercatcher.

Linnets or something.

Linnets or something.

Great Black-Backed Gull.

Great Black-Backed Gull.

Cormorant and Oystercatcher.

Cormorant and Oystercatcher.

Cormorant.

Cormorant.

2 Responses to “Magpies”

  1. Andy Mackay February 6, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

    I think your Black-necked Grebes are mostly Black-necked Grebes (not convinced about the one before the last one). And the something underneath them is a Linnet.

Leave a Reply

