Pied Flycatcher?

26 May

I been out Beaulieu Heath way. I got lost and couldn’t find my car again. Then I found my car. Now I am tired.

Anyway, I seen a thing and I thought the thing was a pied flycatcher but I didn’t get a very good picture and I am not sure if it is a pied flycatcher do you think it is a pied flycatcher? (edit: thanks to Wanstead Birder and Early Worm Birder for their help. Consensus seems to be that it is a pied flycatcher, so I’m crossing it off the list.) (double edit: but then Fat paul scholes came along to piss on my bonfire and point out that it could easily be a male stonechat. So I’m uncrossing-it-off. Or crossing it on. Whatever the right wordenology is.)

Is this a pied flycather?

Is this a pied flycatcher?

Nearby was a bird that I think was a linnet but with the wrong beak. (edit: thanks to Wanstead Birder and Early Worm Birder for their help. It’s a female stonechat. Like all females, it insists on being “different” just to be awkward.)

Probaby a linnet.

Probaby a linnet. (Edit: No it isn’t. It is a female stonechat.)

Maybe.

Maybe. (Edit: Maybe not.)

Other than that I did not seen much. Just these:

Stonechat.

Stonechat.

Probably a meadow pipit.

Probably a meadow pipit.

Still probably a meadow pipit.

Still probably a meadow pipit.

Blackbird dad with blackbird child. Or possibly with a female blackbird. Same thing really.

Blackbird dad with blackbird child. Or possibly with a female blackbird. Same thing really.

My feet hurt from all the walking. Serves me right for trying one of the walks in the latest Bird Watching magazine. I’ve been getting it for a year now and they still haven’t been in touch requesting an interview.

4 Responses to “Pied Flycatcher?”

  1. Early worm birder May 27, 2013 at 9:11 am #

    Defo Pied Fly, not a Linnet though, female Stonechat, could be Tree Pipit but don’t quite know?

    • baldmonkeyseenabird May 27, 2013 at 10:48 am #

      Cheers! I’m going to be pessimistic with the pipit and call it a meadow pipit though, as I couldn’t see much of an eye-stripe.

  2. Fat paul scholes May 28, 2013 at 4:31 pm #

    Your pied fly looks like a male stonechat to me.

    • baldmonkeyseenabird May 29, 2013 at 8:57 am #

      Ooh. I see what you mean… I think I’ll uncross-it-off to be on the safe side.
      It looked awfully black and white to me at the time, but I don’t trust my eyes anymore than any other part of this treacherous body.

Leave a Reply

