Red-Breasted Mergansers

1 Mar

So today I gone to Eastney and from Eastney I could seen about a dozen red-breasted mergansers.

Red-breasted merganser from Eastney.

Red-breasted merganser from Eastney.

They were over by the locks at Longshore Way so I thought I would drive round and get a better seen at them. But on the way I seen a kestrel and I thought I would do a photo of the kestrel and I tried but my camera was all fogged up.

Foggy kestrel.

Foggy kestrel.

So I took my lens off my camera and gave the inside a wipe around with a licked finger which shifted some of it but not all of it. I had a look in the boot and there was a pack of yellow dusters, some scouring pads and a can of WD40. So first I sprayed half the can of WD40 in and then worked it in to all the mirrors and glass bits with a scouring pad and then dried it out with a yellow duster and it came up good as new.

Unfortunalteley, by the time I got round the end of Locksway Road there was some sort of charity “”fun” “run”” going on and all the noise they were making had scared the red-breasted mergansers out from the shore.

Red breasted merganser from the locks.

Red breasted merganser from the locks.

This is not the only proof that running is for scum and is evil. Consider the evidence:

  1. Running is slower than driving.
  2. O J Simpson sometimes ran, both before and after murdering his wife.
  3. Runner beans make that horrible squeaky sensation on your teeth.
  4. The film Nuns On The Run.
  5. Another unpleasant activity is also called “The Runs”.

The only exception to the evil-run-rule is Run DMC who insired the Guns a’n’d Roses classic “Walking This Way”. Note though that the song is about walking, not running.

Anyway, then I saw a dunnock.

Here's a dunnock i seen with all the contrast and brightness messed with until it is a horrid smudge which is all dunnocks are in the first place so who cares.

Here’s a dunnock i seen with all the contrast and brightness messed with until it is a horrid smudge which is all dunnocks are in the first place so who cares.

And some gulls.

An assortment of gulls.

An assortment of gulls.

Also the other day I seen a wagtail. It’s not a very special bird and the photo is not good so here it is:

Wagtail en blur.

Wagtail en blur.

So the moral is; instead of running, use WD40 and a scouring pad to clean your camera.

Leave a Reply

