Holiday

10 Aug

I’ve just got back from a holiday in Wales for seening birds ineffectually. There’s a lot to get through so you should read fast to maximise enjoyings.

First I stopped on the way to seen Warwick Castle I seen birds but apparently the first two don’t count because they are really counterfeit not existing birds from forrins.

Bald-Faced Lie Eagle

Bald-faced lie eagle.

Pop-peacock.

Pop-peacock.

Dunnock.

Dunnock.

Next was the beach at Harlech, which was awful. All not-birds, people and disappointment.

Not a bird number one.

Not a bird number one.

Not a bird number two.

Not a bird number two.

Not a bird number three FUNGUS I WIN.

Not a bird number three FUNGUS I WIN.

Not a bird number four.

Not a bird number four.

Next I seen some things in Betws-Y-Coed which I don’t know how to say. Fortunately it never came up as I spoke to no one. A point to me.

Grey wagtail.

Grey wagtail.

Goldcrest.

Goldcrest.

Also goldcrest again.

Also goldcrest again.

Dipper.

Dipper.

Also dipper.

Also dipper.

Yet dipper again.

Yet dipper again.

Next was I seen RSPB Conwy where the most exciting I seen was a blue tit. Proving Wales is wrong.

A poxy lapwing.

A poxy lapwing.

A poxy blue tit.

A poxy blue tit.

Then I gone to Puffin Island by being boated from Beaumaris. (Go with Beaumaris Marine Services not the other one. Beaumaris Marine Services are very very very very good and have RSPB people on board and are good.) I seen a black guillemot but was too slow to do a photo of it. These are the other things I seen. I also seen two harbour porpoises but although they ARE mammals, they are NOT bird-mammals. They are fish-mammals.

Shags.

Shags.

Oystercatchers.

Oystercatchers.

Not even real birds.

Not even real birds.

Kittiwake.

Kittiwake.

Cormorant.

Cormorant.

Then in the general Snowdonia area places I seen these:

Wheatear.

Wheatear.

Mystery birds. There were about ten of them in a flock and they were about the size of a starling but were too light to be starlings so I reckon they were probably wasp-kestrels.

Mystery birds. There were about ten of them in a flock and they were about the size of a starling but were too light to be starlings so I reckon they were probably wasp-kestrels.

Common buzzard.

Common buzzard.

Finally I gone to RSPB Lake Vyrnwy which is a stupid name and now I am bored please write your own words.

Serins and the arse end of a house sparrow.

Siskins and the arse end of a house sparrow.

Presumably a young thrush of some sort being annoyingly vague.

Presumably a young thrush of some sort being annoyingly vague.

Marsh tit.

Marsh tit.

Marsh tit again.

Marsh tit again.

House martin returning to his nest blurrily.

House martin returning to his nest blurrily.

Grey heron.

Grey heron.

Female Blackbird doing its best to look like something interesting.

Female Blackbird doing its best to look like something interesting.

Leave a Reply

